Amber’s Brand Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

the world’s quickest post

with 4 comments

Just a super quick blurb…

Mostly directed at MTV.

I’m technically not sure why certain networks chose to show certain products and why certain ones don’t…but Coke brands got some super free advertisement tonight … and I learned a very valuable brand lesson.  Logo isn’t everything.

Tonight’s episode of Making the Band (MTB) featured a counter full of 2 liter bottles minus labels.  But I still knew exactly what kind of soda they were drinking.  Dark colored soda in a clear bottle with a red top … obviously that is coke … same scenario silver top diet coke.  Clear colored soda in a green bottle blue top … sprite.

It was just terrible interesting to me how I immediately deduced what brands were without the logo…I would be interested to see how many other brands I could recognize minus the logo.

Written by amberbrandblog

April 3, 2009 at 4:06 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. They do this a lot on many shows and it’s very annoying. I understand why they do it, but all it does is draw attention to the brand even more so. You probably wouldn’t have paid any attention to it if it wasn’t blurred out. I always like figuring out what’s what.

    Erica

    April 3, 2009 at 10:01 pm

  2. A lot of shows do this and I find it very annoying. I understand why, but all it does is draw attention to the brand. You probably wouldn’t have even noticed it if they had not blurred it out.

    Erica

    April 3, 2009 at 10:03 pm

  3. Sorry for writing that twice Amber. My computer was screwy, and I couldn’t remember what I wrote the first time exactly.

    Erica

    April 4, 2009 at 2:43 am

  4. brands (and brand cues, like a red top) as shortcuts.

    Scott R

    April 10, 2009 at 6:29 pm


Leave a Reply

